This blog uses some friendly scripts, so allow them to make your visit more pleasant.

12.20.2009

Diafine, I like it!

In case you haven't heard me rave about this Diafine before, I'll explain my relationship. Diafine has been my experimental film developer for a few months now. It comes in two parts, a solution A and solution B, each one ships as a powder and is mixed with water to make a gallon. It's a pretty impressive developer, especially for those on a budget.

Here's a quick run down of the high points of Diafine:

The suggested operating temperature range is 70 to 85 degrees. I no longer have to hunch over my faucet adjusting the knobs trying to hit 68 on the nose. To be honest I just use it at room temperature most of the time, unless it's at one extreme or the other, and everything seems to work just fine.

In most cases it adds a stop or two in film speed or gives a range of acceptable exposure values. For example: I can shoot Kodak Tri-X 400 at ISO 800, 1250 and/or 1600 all in the same roll and I don't have to change how I develop the roll. Everything will come out the same. Lovely!

I suppose I should explain the developing process for Diafine at this point. It's so easy! Any film, shot at any speed is developed the same, WHOA! No pre-soak needed. Three minutes in solution A, two inversions and two taps every minute. Don't rinse it! Follow with three minutes in solution B with the same two inversions and two taps every minute. A quick rinse to spare your fixer and then fix as normal.

Next awesome point! After you develop you pour both solution A and solution B back into their respective gallon containers. You save it! Forever! Because the two solutions don't mix in large quantities, they should stay stable and potent for a long time. As in, a year or longer. That's impressive.

Last but not least, the stuff is cheap! I buy mine at freestylephoto.biz and it's only $14.00 for a gallon and both A and B. $14.00 a year for developer? Yes, please!



NEXT TIME! Developing color c-41 film in Diafine?! NO WAI!

12.07.2009

A New Rangefinder

CLICK ME!



Last weekend I went to the VDO (Village Discount Outlet) on State Rd. and found a nice little Yashica MG-1. It looked very clean, had a lens cap, and all of the actions (film advance lever, film rewind, shutter release, rear door etc.) seemed smooth and accurate. The view finder was a bit dim but I figured that could be fixed with a little cleaning here and there which I'm sure the thing needed anyway. The price wasn't bad either, only $20.00 for a, probably, fully functioning 35mm rangefinder camera. The only problem is that I already have a Yashica MG-1. Oh! what to do?



CLICK ME!

So, I sat on the idea for a while. I looked over the MG-1 that I already owned, played with it a little; subconsciously I really wanted that camera. I started to notice all the little imperfections that my MG-1 had and I even wrote myself a reminder note on my dry erase board to go back to the VDO in a week. A week later I went back and sure enough, it was there with a discount, now it was only $12.00! Not only that but I had forgotten that it had a Yashica CS-12 flash unit on top of it. Sweet deal.
So now I has twin Yashica MG-1 cameras, one in black and the other in Silver/Black. The flash is crusty packed with dried battery acid, so that thing is going to need a lot of love, cleaning and possible rewiring: joy.

Oh, and I should mention that while I was at the VDO for the second time there was a Kodak Brownie type camera (honestly I can't remember the model, they're all so similar.) I'll probably end up going back for that one, too. It takes 620 film, which isn't available, and the film advance lever is missing so I didn't grab it when I was there BUT it was $4.00 with an orange sticker and the girl behind the counter said that orange was going to be one of the colors starting Thursday. I could pay $2.00 for a Brownie.
The girl behind the counter was probably only 18, maybe 20 at the most, and when I asked to see the Brownie she didn't believe that it was a camera. I had to open it up and show her where the film went, where the view finder was, how to hold it and how to snap a shot. I love that about old cameras. To so many people it's either a great source of nostalgia, remembering the old family TLR, or to the younger folks it's a great mystery there there isn't a slot of a memory card, no viewing screen in the back, no auto focus or movie features. It's a great way to start a conversation with strangers but I worry. In ten years, will young people still know about 35mm film? Is film really following LPs and VHS tapes?




p.s.
It snowed again.
 click...

11.29.2009

A Fine Day for Printing

CLICK ME!

In most of my recent photographic en devours I've been shooting mostly film, developing in a basement darkroom, and then simply scanning the negatives onto my computer. In a sense I feel I was breaking the chain of traditional photography. I didn't have much to show for all my work besides a computer screen of photos and a few digitally printed images. I needed to make some prints!

I scoured local craigslist listings for a while and finally found a gem: a c760 omega enlarger, in nearby Streetsboro for a steal! It was only $75.oo and that included the enlarger, El-Nikkor 50mm lens, a mint condition GraLab timer (pictured above), and two boxes of printing paper. Amazing! After that all I needed was a 6x6 negative carrier and an 80mm lens and I'd be in business to start printing from medium format negatives. Well the negative carrier came in quick but the 80mm lens took a little longer to find at a good price. Yesterday I had all pieces to the puzzle together and I started making my first prints from my 6x6 negatives!

There is something magical to being isolated with something you love. Whether I'm under my car with a hot, oil dripping engine above me getting my hands caked with grime, or if I'm hunching over an enlarger in a dimly lit room with the smell of chemicals all around me: I'm always at complete peace. Manipulating the developing times and exposure times, mixing and stirring chemicals, measuring and cutting paper, it all comes together to make an image. The best part, by far, is dipping the paper in the developer after exposing it. At about the 15 or 30 second mark, like magic, an image appears from nothing. A blank white piece of paper stirred in what looks like water makes a (hopefully) gorgeous black and white picture. Hey I remember seeing that in my viewfinder!

Besides being fulfilling, productive, and amazingly fun, I really enjoy it because the darkroom is over at my grandmother, Sisa's, house in her basement. Not only is it great to hear her belting out Spanish lyrics to beautiful songs from upstairs but it's great to just see her and spend time with her. I really didn't get to see my grandfather (her late husband) much because I was still pretty young when he died, and I suppose I'm making up for it by spending more time with her. Even though she speaks in broken English and I don't know much Spanish, we manage to make conversations work. Admittedly I'm always surprised at how sharp she still is. I shouldn't be though, but I have this preconceived notion that all elderly people are beginning to falter mentally or have some disability. It just isn't true with her. I just wish I spoke Spanish, as then I could really get the full extent of what she's trying to tell me. And that's my disability.

11.27.2009

The First Real Snow of 2009

 CLICK ME!


Today, in my mind, north east Ohio had it's first real snow of the year and of the winter season. It brings both dread and excitement to my shivering bones. I hate the slush, scrape, slip, shiver of winter; but at the same time I love the trees covered with white fluff instead of the usual green leafy matter and the beautiful photographic opportunities.

Dressing in coats, hats, gloves and scarves is fun, too. Getting bundled in hopes of staying warm for a nice winter white walk is one of the best parts of the snowy season. So get out and enjoy the snow while you can. The beautiful white fluff will turn to slush, shoveling, backache, cold toes and numb fingers before you know it. Take someone for a walk today; your best friend, a lost friend, or even your shadow.

A sobering note: a very young life was lost today and it reminds me of how fragile our fleshy little bodies are. Just remember to cherish life and be thankful for everything you have. Even if things could be better, if you could have more, if the world isn't perfect: at least you have your life. Snow may be cold and winter may be your least favorite of the seasons at times: be thankful we have an earth with seasons and weather to surprise you, rain and sun to fuel us all, evil and death to remind us to be good and make use of this life.

11.26.2009

A Walk on 11-22-09

I took a walk along the train tracks with my room mate on Sunday. She needed photos for a project so she borrowed the d50. The sun was too perfect for a November day to not take my TLR along. I grabbed a roll of Kodak Tri-X 400 and my Yashica Mat and I was out the door. I'm happy with the results.

These four are my favorite from the roll, with "Twin Exhaust Fans" being my most favorite. I just love the tones so much, the sun was shining harsh and really threw some great light out.


 CLICK ME!  CLICK ME!

CLICK ME!  CLICK ME!

There are six more photos from this roll posted on my Flickr account.

11.05.2009

Oh look! The picture at the top of the blog changed. That must mean I'm doing something. How exciting!

10.23.2009

So Disappointed

I have a sneaking suspicion that NO ONE VISITS MY BLOG! I could be wrong, but all signs point to "yes!" No one ever leaves comments, no one mentions anything to me in person when I post an update, no one seems to care. Sucks for you guys! You're missing out on the best blog on the internetter!

This blog takes up a good deal of time. The projects I do go on whether I post them here or not, but taking the time to photograph everything and narrate the process is time consuming; not to mention making all the banners for this blog. It's still fun to do all this, but without any feedback or signs of life from any sort of readership it's started to lose it's luster. So I'm going to change gears for the site. I don't know what I'll do, but it won't focus on narratives of tinkering projects, perhaps it will be more about photography and the like. Perhaps I'll just shut down the blog. Who knows...

10.21.2009

Are you out there?

Is that you? Are you there? Where have you been? You never talk to me anymore. You never leave encouraging blocks of text of me anymore. What happened? Is it me, or is it you?

If you're reading this, leave me a comment. Let me know you're (anyone!) still there!

9.27.2009


The Blue Devil!




A good friend of mine recently bought a new (to her) bike. It fit's great for her rather short size and is in pretty decent condition. A few spots of scratched/rubbed off paint, grime in the normal places like the gears, chain, underbelly, but good shape for the price and age of the beast. So what was the problem then? The freewheel wobbled like "whoa!" and every revolution of the rear wheel brought a strange "swoosh" noise.

"Interesting! Doctor let's operate!"
(I must apologize before hand, I didn't have my camera for all of this project! Sorry!)

First things first: get that rear wheel off the bike. No problem so far, just undid the quick release and pulled the wheel off. I should probably say that I had never taken a freewheel (the bundle of gears on the rear of a bike) apart before. How hard could it be? Plus I had my ever-handy and completely necessary "Everybody's Bike Book." I would be pretty lost without this gem. So I started taking this thing apart and laying all the nuts, washers, doodads, and diddles into separate egg carton compartments which is very handy for keeping track of parts.


layout  Tools!

Everything was going fine until I tried to take the actually freewheel off.
"My tool won't fit in the slot!"
(I said that!)




 puller slot

It's hard to tell unless you know what you're looking at, but there are three slots in a Y formation on the inner most ring of the copper color metal. A tool is supposed to fit into those slots and rotate the entire piece to loosen and take off the freewheel. There are two common types of free pullers: a splined puller and a two pronged puller. This little blue devil requires a THREE pronged puller (I couldn't even find a picture of one!) I don't have a three pronged puller! So I took the wheel down to Marty's Bike shop in Stow. The technician down at Marty's was shocked to see such a thing. He said he had heard of the three prong type, but never had he seen one and nor had he ever worked on one. He began digging through boxes and tool behind the counter. "I think I have the tool. I saw it not too long ago and thoughts 'I should probably keep this thing just in case i ever have to use it.'" Good thing he kept it or I'd be up a tree with a bear! I ended up leaving the wheel with him over night. I picked it up and, voilĂ ! The freewheel was off!



 freewheel separation

The freewheel was off and damn it was dirty! Look at this thing! Look at that grimy grease!


 grime  more poop!

The second picture there is what was under the freewheel. That pit of black/brown grime is where the bearings (little metal balls that allow the metal to glide) are supposed to go. How can anything work as designed in such conditions! Clean up was simple enough though. Some paper towels and a lot of wiping did the trick. (Sorry, there are no pictures of the dust shield and bearing cup cleaned up prior to reassembly!!) I must say that the clean up of old parts can be very enjoyable. Removing years upon years of dirt and bringing that old part back into use is a great thing. So after the bearing area was cleaned up I put on some gloves, brought out the synthetic grease and lubed up . . . the bearing cup! (I know what you were thinking, sick!) I also bought new bearings at Marty's, and I just stuck those into the grease and tapped the dust shield on with a hammer. After that I simple screwed the freewheel back on, lucky for me there is no special tool needed to put the freewheel back on. Just make sure you don't cross thread when reassembling. You could messed things up in a bad way.
BAM! That looks nice!


 greased
 greased

The next thing to do was put the axle back together and put it through the center of the wheel. I should have taken a picture of the axle as I did my work but I didn't because of the chance of grease getting onto the camera as I put my fingers around the greasy bearing area. Forgive me. So to make up for it, and to give you an idea of what I'm talking about, here is an image I yoinked from www.sheldonbrown.com which I should mention, is a good source of bicycle knowledge. Some of the writing should be taken with a grain of salt, however. Anywhoo! This is a typical bicycle axle:


axle



The only difference I can see is that the dust caps on this Blue Devil aren't attached to the axle, but instead are pressed into the wheel itself. I assembled the right side of the axle, cone against the bearings, washers, and tightening nut. Then I put the left end first through the center of the wheel, coming out through the freewheel, like this:


poke


After the axle was through the wheel the rest of the components slipped/screwed on easy; cone, spacers, washer, locking nut. I screwed the cones on tight against the bearings, then back them off a half turn. You want the cones to be securely holding the bearings, but also allowing them to spin, so the wheel can spin. Also one thing that needs to be taken into account is making sure that there is even amounts of threads exposed on either side of the wheel. These threads are what is going to be locked against the frame, holding the wheel in place with the frame as it spins. Very important! The easiest way is to just count the number of threads on each side.


 Wheel!


I tested the wheel by holding the axle on both sides and spinning the wheel along the floor and holding the wheel in the air. It spun smoothly without much resistance: great! The wheel was ready to go back onto the bike at this point. Little did I know that most fun was in store for me . . . the Blue Devil has more tricks! More to come, so stop back soon!

9.19.2009

Things Got Worse. . .

We got computer problems on computer problems!

I had a virus problem that mostly halted my photo editing, blog posting, and photo uploading abilities. I thought I fixed everything when I posted my last entry. Unfortunately this was simply a clever ruse. I wasn't out of the water, I was just waiting to get eaten by the big ass shark that is a bunch of viruses. I decided I'd try a different approach to the OS game: I installed Ubuntu (linux based operating system) along with Windows XP (as a backup in case I screwed Ubuntu up (which i did several times.)) Ubuntu, it's running great but it has taken near a week to get photoshop cs2 to run properly in Ubuntu, nothing is very easy at first.

I finally have photoshop. I can scan images. I can upload shot from my digital. New images should be coming soon. I've been working on my bike. I have a bass guitar mostly disassembled. I have a camera waiting to be tinkered to death. New stuff will be up soonish.

Because I feel every post should have some sort of image to go along with it, here is a sample shot. This was taken at the Stark County Fair with my Yashica Mat MF (medium format) TLR (twin lens reflex) camera. It wasn't cleaned prior to scanning, and it hasn't been touched up at all. So it is what it is right now.

Just a taste.



 Wishing to Ride

8.29.2009

Comeback Kid

Over two months without a new post makes Thomas a dull boy.

I moved into a new place. I had some issues with love. I still work full time. Summer is a time to be outside! From now on, though, I'll try to stay with the ball and update this blog on the regular. In the mean time, here are some photos to look at while I think up new blog posts.


mohter
brother cousin

I'll probably post these to my Flickr, as well.








6.17.2009

We've done it -- cupcakes for the masses!




A desire to create, a need to bake, and a friend's birthday all fell together recently. This is the magnificent result documented in photographs.

In the beginning Carolyn and I knew only this: we wanted cup cakes and our theme must revolve around Birthday-Boy-Jon. How does one theme cakes around Jon you ask? Star Trek and Obscenity & Indecency. But before we started defiling cup cakes we needed to make the chocolaty treats! My mom had the perfect thing for this, her fall back chocolate cake recipe. She promised simplicity, amazing taste, and a dense moist texture. What more could one want?

BLACK MAGIC CAKE

1.75 cups unsifted flour
2 cups sugar
0.75 cup unsweetened cocoa
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 cup strong black coffee
1 cup buttermilk (or sour milk)
0.5 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla

Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt in large mixing bowl. Add eggs, coffee, buttermilk, oil and vanilla; beat two minutes on medium speed.
Bake at 350* for approximately 35 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.


A very simple recipe indeed! And they look beautiful even without frosting.


Close Up 1 Yum! Boob Cakes

The icing was even easier. Just butter and powdered sugar with a splash of milk. It came out light and buttery. In short: amazing.
Add a little food coloring, some piping, creativity and a sick mind and you get the following. . .


Modeling
sketches work station $$

Star Trek - The Next Generation
worf geordi riker jesus crew

Jon's Loves
weed ball and pin

Dirty Thoughts
vagina penis private parts poop! butt

Pac Man
 text


Boob Cakes

teat boobs


wow

We then took the cakes to Jon. . .


lick
Total Recall


We need to do that again sometime soon. . .

We Like Boltography